The Kite Runner Graphic Novel Review

1451821863282The Kite Runner Graphic Novel
Author : Khaled Hosseini
Illustrators : Fabio Celoni and Mirka Andolfo
Published by : Riverhead Trade
Released : September 6th, 2011
Pages : 136
Format : Paperback
Setting : Afghanistan, US, Pakistan

 

 

β€œThere is only one sin. and that is theft… when you tell a lie, you steal someones right to the truth.” ― Khaled Hosseini, The Kite Runner

The illustration plus the amazing storyline make a good graphic novel!

Plot : The beginning of the story is all warm and nice. I love how the novel starts off by showing the closeness between Hassan and Amir. Then, there is conflict happening in Afghanistan and things are not looking good for the people, especially the Hazaras (servants) in the country. That is when the friendship between the two boys starts to shaken. Amir has become more self-centered and neglects Hassan’s loyalty and trust towards him. There is even one incident which really bothering me a lot. I also believe that because of the guilt that Amir feels, he starts to push Hassan away from his life, not wanting his father to know the actual situation, that he left Hassan helplessly and acts like a coward. Afterwards, things are getting worse, Amir and his dad migrates to U.S. and start a new life there. Amir then gets married to a girl that he truly loves after graduating. He then comes back to Afghanistan due to a request from his uncle whom is apparently sick. At the same times, he discovers a few truths that were hidden from him all these while. Hassan passed away and left a son. Towards the end, Amir tries his best to save Hassan’s son despite his fear for the Taliban but he manages to save the child.

β€œFor you, a thousand times over” ― Khaled Hosseini, The Kite Runner

Characters : Amir as the main character has made me have a love-hate relationship with him. I hate him for not standing up for Hassan like he does for him. Worse of all, he even thinks Hassan as a servant while Hassan thinks them of friends, best friends. I love him for his passion and how he stands up for his ambition and never gives up. How he pursues his love is also making me feel he is cute at times *laughs* As an adult, I can still see his fear and not able standing up for others, but he pulls it off at the end when he actually risks his life for saving Hassan’s son. Hassan is another great character. I am in love with this human being ! Everything about him touches my heart a lot. He is an inspiration, I think he is a character that kids or anyone else should look up at. Great personality! There are also other characters in the novel that play very significant role in the story.

There are so many surprises in this very short graphic novel that you would never think of.

My thoughts on the novel? : First of all, I love, love, love the illustrations ! They are bright, daring and very attractive. The illustrations give a picture perfect to the storyline. The plot is also very interesting, nicely linked together. This novel almost made me cried, I think there was a few drops of tears. LOL. There is a sense of jealousy, hatred from Amir towards Hassan. I can see it from the words and also the pictures. Amir does not quite appreciate Hassan’s loyalty when they were kids. To me, Hassan is an absolute angel and never once he is angry towards Amir. He does not even spill the truth when Amir accuses him on stealing his belonging. How could you be so forgiven, loyal and kind to a person who leaves you alone when you need him the most? *I just can’t* This book also pictures the struggle, hardship of the people in Afghanistan, what they need to go through for survival. It talks about courage, loyalty, truthfulness, honesty, family bond and friendship. I just adore this graphic novel so much!

I was always scared to grab the actual novel because I was scared I would not enjoy it, I never read something that has a background in Afghanistan. But after reading (and looking ) at this graphic novel, it makes me want to go grab the book immediately ! Can’t wait! Make sure to grab this touching and amazing graphic novel.

Rating : 4/ 5 stars

Leave a Reply

