Kids Calling Me Teacher?!

“Children aren’t coloring books. You don’t get to fill them with your favorite colors.”
― Khaled Hosseini

Last week, I got to be at school as a teacher trainee and not as a student. I went to a primary school, which the age of the students are ranged from 7 to 12 years old. It was my first School Based Experience(SBE), it is compulsory for us the teacher trainees whom studied in the teacher institution in Malaysia to go for this SBE for a week for 3 semester in our undergraduate course.

To be at school full of kids was really excited and nerve-wrecking at the same time. To be honest, I don’t think I am good with kids and to be surrounded by almost a thousand over children in a school is pretty intimidating. I’m not going to lie. But hey, being at school for the past one whole week, I kind of learn a few of important lessons from them and also, they remind me so much of myself when I was at my childhood.

Kids are innocence, they don’t think of purposes, they just do, say or act the way they want to. Period. No reasons. At least that was what I got to know from the bunch of students at the school. They have ambition or ambitions, yet they don’t have reasons why they want to be in that particular occupation. This is might be because of the jobs that they know are limited and some of them sound cool and stand out for these children. Well, whatever the reason is, they don’t mind what the job is, they just want to be that person when they grow up. This is what I miss, those days when we didn’t have to think, we just simply did it because “well, I like it.” That was the only answer we were able to think of if “I don’t know.” is not an option. To be at young age is the precious, we don’t have any burden or too much problems to think of. We were all once silly, free and never had any worries. However, as we grow, more and more things that we need to think, consider and feel. This is what I dislike when growing up, but at the bright side, we become more mature and gain experience from the past, thus becoming wiser as a person. This, the kids might don’t possess. Seeing the children laughing, running wild on the field and talking so much makes me miss my old self.

Kids, they don’t feel shy, perhaps a little, but still can’t beat the teenagers, adults or people that are older than them. They ask what they want to ask, they are full of curiosity and wonders. This is what I love about children, not shy of asking, this is how they acquire new knowledge. Unlike the teenagers or adults, we are shy of asking, scared we are being told off or laughed at. The thing is this problem becomes a barrier for us to learn and gain lessons. Thus, we make tons of mistakes, and well, we learn too, from the mistakes. Only if we ask first and get things clear then we might learn better. But well, most people learn better from mistakes, right?

Also, children are easily amazed by little things. For example, I was sketching the usual hair drawing that I normally do and it caught their attention just like that. They were awed by the sketch and kept asking if I were an artist. I actually felt the sketch went wrong but with their praises, it instantly made me feel good again about the sketch. Because I felt the honesty in their voices and I feel this kind of attitude is also lacking in our society. The society nowadays are just too judgmental and full of negative criticisms. Why don’t we take a minute and give others some positive feedback or positive criticisms that can help them to improve themselves instead? It won’t cause any harm and it makes people feel better, much better about themselves. It won’t cause you anything to make people feel happy, right?

I guess that’s all I can recall from my experience with the children. I am surely going to miss them and their spirit just remind me so much of myself. I really hope that you still keep that child version of you somewhere inside your heart and bring him or her out sometimes so that this world can be a better place. Be positive, spread joy around ! 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Kids Calling Me Teacher?!

  1. I love kids! even though my younger cousins can sometimes be a pain in the butt, but watching kids play just gives me a sense of freedom and joy. It reminds me of when I used to play around and had no care for whatever the world thought about me. I’m still clinging onto my inner child even though I’m turning 18 now and will have to take on new responsibilities. xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

