Anna and the French Kiss Book Review

Studio_20160316_130306
Anna and the French Kiss
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Published by: Speak
Released: August 4th, 2011
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 372
Format: Paperback
Characters: Anna Oliphant, Étienne St. Clair, Meredith Chevalier, Rashmi, Joshua Wasserstein, Ellie, Bridgette Saunderwick, Christopher, Dave Higgenbottom
Setting: Paris and Atlanta, Georgia, United States

“Is it possible for home to be a person and not a place?”
― Stephanie Perkins, Anna and the French Kiss

Plot : The book starts off in a very a cliché way. A normal girl finds herself in a totally different and strange place. She hates it and blames her dad for that. She has this parents issue going on and then things starts to get better when she finds out this one charming guy who studies in the same school with her and things starts to get better and perhaps a little more complicated starting from that point onward. How cliché is that right? However, Stephanie Perkins somehow makes this book incredibly exciting and undeniably amazing. I like this type of romantic and full of conflict kind of love story. Her book has totally brought me to another level of the word “cute”. Haha, yes, this book has such a nice flow , from Anna and Etienne first meeting each other until the end of the book, it is a perfect storyline. Very cute, it can be too much, but it turns out great as there are other things that is going on throughout the story and it is well put together by the author. Thus, I love the way the book is written and the way it brings me into Anna’s world. Before I forget, I must say that the ending is perfect, I can’t ask for more, rarely get to see a book with such ending anymore, it reminds me one (spoiler alert!) High School Musical’s ending.

Characters : Well, there are quite a number of characters in this book and I love each one of them (though there are a few annoyed me). Let’s talk about the main character, Anna. Anna is a senior who is forced by her dad to move to a school in Paris. She has a crush back in her hometown and a bestfriend, called Bridgette. To be honest, I don’t love Anna or hate her, but I just simply like her character. She is confused almost most of the time and always makes her own assumption on things which mostly makes things goes from bad to worse. I guess that is where we get the interesting storyline huh. I like that she is innocent and constantly reminds me of the feeling of first love. Etienne on the other hand is charming, perfect and lovable. You just cannot deny that fact, for the people who have read this book, you get what I mean, but for the ones who have not, go grab this book and be prepared to fall madly in love with Etienne St. Clair ! I don’t know whether people are going to be mad with this statement but again, Etienne for me is another character that is created who constantly confused with his feelings and actually has certain insecurities despite of his perfectness. I love his personality and the way he expresses his feelings. I feel that every girl deserves a boyfriend like him! (sorry, does this counted as spoiler? I really don’t know how to avoid spoiler when talking about him.) There are also other interesting characters but I’m not going to bore you with all the details.

My thoughts on the book? : This book will melt every heart and soul on earth. Yes, that is my only thought on the book. What can I say, Stephanie has done a great job in writing this gem and it makes me jittery almost all the time reading this book. A very light and dreamy read, I guess? This book has also highlighted a few things such as friendship and family bond too. You should read it if you haven’t. 😉

Rating : 4.5 /5 stars

Leave a Reply

