Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children Book Review

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs
Published by: Quirk
Released: June 7th, 2011
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover
Characters: Jacob Portman, Emma Bloom, Alma Lefay Peregrine, Millard Nullings, Enoch O’Connor, Abraham Portman…
Setting: Florida, United States

“I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.”
― Ransom Riggs, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Plot : This book caught my attention once I started it. I love the old pictures shown to Jacob by his grandfather. Their relationship was warm and it attracted me as soon as I was in the book. In my opinion, the book is developed nicely when Jacob started to discover his peculiarity. The events that happened along the discovery was also delivered in a understandable way and everything was magical in the book. The places, the incidents, the characters. *spoiler alert!* When Jacob actually went to the past and met Emma, I actually found it a bit confusing, however, in later part of the book, things started to get into one piece and the story got more exciting. I truly enjoyed the plot twists and how things were explained in this book. Ransom did a fantastic job in making his story clear to the readers! 🙂

Characters : I love all the children ! Each one of them was created with personality and such unique quality was given to each one. I don’t even know where did Ransom Riggs’s imagination come from and enabled him to create so many amazing peculiar children! So much thought and research had been done for the characters creation alone. Besides that, I also like the character of the hollowgasts and wights, it made the story more exciting although they are the antagonists in the book. The character of Grandpa Portman is so on point and I can relate so much to that character, it reminds me of my own late grandpa, except the island and peculiar children part. :p Jacob’s dad is also one of the character that grabbed my attention, his character came strong for me and I could totally understand his condition and personality. I think there was a good balance of the characters created in the story and I love every single of them as they all contributed to the story line.

“Their memory was something tangible and heavy, and I would carry it with me.”
― Ransom Riggs, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

My thoughts on the book? : Well, I can just say that I love this book and it definitely succeeded make me fall in love with fantasy genre all over again. But this book left me with an unsettled feeling, as it ended up with a cliff hanger and thus, I really need to get the rest of the series !

Highly recommended!

Rating : 4.5 / 5 stars

Leave a Reply

