Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell Book Review

IMG_20160318_131310

Fangirl

Author: Rainbow Rowell
Published by: St. Martin’s Griffin
Released: October 2013
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fiction
Pages: 435
Format: Paperback
Characters: Cath Avery, Wren Avery, Levi, Nick, Reagan, Art, Laura, Courtney, Jandro, …
Setting : Lincoln, Nebraska (US)
Omaha, Nebraska (US)

“The whole point of fanfiction is that you get to play inside somebody else’s universe. Rewrite the rules. Or bend them. The story doesn’t have to end. You can stay in this world, this world you love, as long as you want, as long as you keep thinking of new stories.”
― Rainbow Rowell, Fangirl

Plot : I don’t really know where to start. This book is awesome and I’m rooting for it. I am in love with the plot and the story line. It started fine for me. Everything was new and Cath was struggling in college, not wanting to meet new people and stuff. I get it. It was nice but then the thing with Levi happened and things just kept going up! I finished 3/4 of this book one whole night (that was like 300 pages and I am a really slow reader), without sleeping, that is how good the book is! It hit off with Cath’s twin, Wren wanted to be independent, not wanting to always sticking with Cath and how much it hurt her feeling. Then, Cath seemed to fall in love with Levi but being insecure at the same time as they might not suit one another. It is written so well, it is cliche and yet it was so good. Afterwards, the parents issue came in. The father had some kind of break down and their mother whom left them decided to come back for them. This part is something different and Rainbow Rowell highlighted on family relationship so well and I just adore how she wrote the story of this family falling apart and then she picked up all the broken pieces and just fix this family again in the book. It was well done, I couldn’t find any flaw in it. There is also scenes where Cath was struggling with her fanfiction writing and college and just so confused with what she wanted. But in the end , she pulled it off and got her mind back on the right track.

“To really be a nerd, she’d decided, you had to prefer fictional worlds to the real one.”
― Rainbow Rowell, Fangirl

IMG_20160606_204741[1]
Channeling my inner Cath
Characters : Characters. I love each one of them, except for Nick and perhaps Laura, the mother too. So, let’s talk about the ones I really like. LEVI! I have heard so many compliments given to him and when he actually did something that hurt Cath, I didn’t get why people love him so much, he’s charming, yes but he was toying with her feeling. Hell I was wrong, he was caring as hell, sweet as hell, well, maybe the dating part is not really my favourite (haha) but for all the things that he had done for Cath, now I know why girls are so crazy for him. He is one hella good gentleman. Cath is not my top favourite, I like that she writes, I like that she doesn’t like to socialize but I don’t like that she keeps crying and being sober whenever she is in hard time, but I think that is how the author shows her character development in the book. Rainbow Rowell shows tremendous change in Cath and she wrote it so well. I love it! Then, we have Reagan, Cath’s roomate. I’m dying to have a roomate like her, gives great advises, talks only when needed, and cool. And can be bitchy sometimes, but she’s cool and I like her. Wren as Cath’s twin is also written in a way that she finally understood that in the end of the day, she is going to need Cath and I like that Rainbow wrote it that way because it makes the story warmer and I love the bond created between the sisters. There are so many other characters, but I think you will figure them out once you read this book. They are created perfectly in the story and they fit so well in all the incidents created in the book.

“I’m rooting for you,” she whispered
― Rainbow Rowell, Fangirl

“I choose you over everyone.”
― Rainbow Rowell, Fangirl

My thoughts on the book? : LOVE. LOVE. LOVE. LOVE. LOVE. It can be predictable and cheesy. But I don’t really mind it being predictable. It makes sense to me and I am sure to other readers too and it felt good. The cheesy part? Rainbow Rowell knows what she was doing very well, that even the cheesiet part in the book felt nice, comforting and lovely. I didn’t feel annoying or anything, it was a great love. BUT just where is my ending?! This book sorts of have an ending but not quite really too. It made me goes, “What? Is my book missing a few pages or maybe the ink ran out while got this book printed? Where is the rest of the story go?” This reminds me of Eleanor and Park. Rainbow Rowell just did it again, leaving her readers to wonder the ending, creating endless possibilities of ending for the book, either a perfect one or maybe some kind of plot twist added? It was like the readers are able to create their own little fanfiction. I love her!

“I always get lost in the library,’ he said, ‘no matter how many times I go. In fact, I think I get lost there more, the more that I go. Like it’s getting to know me and revealing new passages.”
― Levi, Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl is definitely worth reading. I highly recommend it and shout out to Rainbow Rowell for creating such a great YA contemporary book for us, for me.

Rate : 5 / 5 stars

2 thoughts on “Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell Book Review

Leave a Reply

