Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2) Book Review

IMG_20160610_102055

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2)

Author: Ransom Riggs
Published by: Quirk Books
Released: February 24th, 2015 (first in January 14th, 2014)
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fiction, Historical Fiction
Pages: 412
Format: Paperback
Characters: Jacob Portman, Emma, Enoch, Horace, Millard, Sam and Esme, Miss Wren, …

Synopsis :
Hollow City begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Complete with dozens of newly discovered (and thoroughly mesmerizing) vintage photographs, this new adventure will delight readers of all ages. (Source : Goodreads)

“I liked this idea: that peculiarness wasn’t a deficiency, but an abundance; that it wasn’t we who lacked something normals had, but they who lacked peculiarness. That we were more, not less.”
― Ransom Riggs, Hollow City

My thoughts on the book? : ” A quest to rescue Miss Peregrine with a little plot twist towards the ending. ” This is what describe the book best for me. I did not enjoy this book as much as I enjoyed the first one, but it did not bore me or disappoint me entirely. I like the peculiar children’s journey to seek for help for their ymbryne(Miss Peregrine) and all the new characters(peculiars and wights) they met along the journey. It was a nicely narrated story, I love the fact that in this book, Jacob was trying to explore more on his peculiarity and there was more romantic feels built between Emma and him.

“A song and a smile from someone I cared about could be enough to distract me from all that darkness, if only for a little while.”
― Ransom Riggs, Hollow City

However, I was expecting more, more surprises and plot twists. The new characters created did not seem to thrill me that much and I found it rather lengthy to get to such ending in this book. Although most people would prefer Hollow City than the first book (according to Goodreads rating), I seemingly enjoyed the first book better and this second book was a fine read for me and again, it ended in even bigger cliffhanger. So, if you’re getting into these series, you better have all 3 of the books because you would not want the story of the previous books disappear in your head by the time you get the third one.

“Just because they knew it was lost didn’t mean they knew how to let it go.”
― Ransom Riggs, Hollow City

Overall, Hollow City has been a good read for me. I like the book but not crazy over it. I do recommend it to the readers whom are interested in YA and fantasy and not forget to mention, creepy photos !

Rate: 3.5 / 5 stars

2 thoughts on “Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2) Book Review

Leave a Reply

