Seriously…I’m Kidding Book Review

Studio_20160316_122323

Seriously… I’m Kidding

Author: Ellen DeGeneres
Published by: Grand Central Publishing
Released: September 25th 2012
Genre: Non Fiction, Biography, Humour
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

Synopsis:

I’ve experienced a whole lot the last few years and I have a lot to share. So I hope that you’ll take a moment to sit back, relax and enjoy the words I’ve put together for you in this book. I think you’ll find I’ve left no stone unturned, no door unopened, no window unbroken, no rug unvacuumed, no ivories untickled. What I’m saying is, let us begin, shall we? (Source: Goodreads)

β€œBeauty is about being comfortable in your own skin. It’s about knowing and accepting who you are.”
― Ellen DeGeneres, Seriously… I’m Kidding

My thought on the book? :

This book is HILARIOUS! I love the way Ellen wrote this book as if she was conversing with the readers. This book contains so many beautiful quotes, sayings and positive vibes. It is light and contains a lot of humour sense. “Boringggg….” is definitely NOT how you describe this amazing book. It is fun, easy to read, very relatable, entertaining.

β€œDo things that make you happy within the confines of the legal system.”
― Ellen DeGeneres, Seriously… I’m Kidding

You can bring this book to anywhere and read it whenever you want. But I need to remind you, if you are the type of person who laughs a lot and very loudly. Do not read this in public! I warn you. I love the fact that this is a kind of a self help book and yet it contains so much humour. I understand that some people who have read this book might think, why did Ellen always talk about one thing and ended up talking about nonsense and totally unrelated to the subject matter at all at the end of a chapter. But that is the best part of this book, it will not bore you even a second! For people who thinks Ellen sometimes drive away from the topic and you think this book does not help you, well you are not a very funny person. (Haha, no offense. Seriously… I’m kidding) See what I did there?

” Laugh. Laugh as much as you can. Laugh until you cry. Cry until you laugh. Keep doing it even if people are passing you on the street saying, “I can’t tell if that person is laughing or crying, but either way they seem crazy, let’s walk faster.” Emote. It’s okay. It shows you are thinking and feeling.”
― Ellen DeGeneres, Seriously… I’m Kidding

Besides that, there are a few chapters that are … I don’t even know how to describe it. It does not give any helpful tips or does not give you significant events of Ellen’s life but surely it will make you laugh hard. I guess this book overall is about giving you the positive vibes, happiness and it helps to boost up your mood, like instantly. So if you feel sad or stress, just open any pages of this book and read it! Just a few pages will do, to crack you up! If you feel happy, read this book too, because why not?

Rating : 5 / 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

