The Perks of Being a Wallflower Book Review

img_20160911_183651

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Author: Stephen Chbosky
Published by: Simon & Schuster
Released: September 12, 2012
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 231
Format: Paperback
Characters: Charlie, Sam, Patrick, Brad, …

Synopsis :

Charlie is a freshman.
And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his year yet socially awkward,he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it.

Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But he can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor. (Source: Goodreads)

“So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.”
― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Plot :

The story started off well, I think. I love the writing style. I always like diary entries kind of novels. It supposedly allow the readers(me) to connect with the story of the main character or the narrator better. That is why I always love first person point of view books. The whole book was eventful, never a moment that I felt bored reading it. However, it felt monotonous, I didn’t exactly know where was the climax. Charlie faced a lot of problems, Charlie met Sam and Patrick, they changed his life a little, he experienced changes, then more things happened. Followed by the story behind all of his behaviour and his personality, then it came to a resolution. That was that. Nothing really surprised me. I am not sure whether having myself watched the movie previously affected my feeling of reading this book. There was something lacking that made me couldn’t fully immerse into this book. Other than that, the story line was fine and the ending gave enough justification to the story.

“We accept the love we think we deserve.”
― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Character :

The characters is one of the strength for this book. The characters created are all very interesting in their own way. Charlie is this wallflower that keeps being reminded by the author all the time. It was obvious that he listened and witnessed a lot all the time and was not really being noticed by a lot of people, thus made him a loner too. Then, we have Patrick, another character that I adore. He was funny and cheerful, full of positive vibes, yet he had this one secret and this one secret could really change his whole personality and that what made his character seemed to be weak towards the end. I quote, “Sometimes, the happiest person is the saddest one.” I like how some of the characters are confuse with their life and their personality and what they wanted in life. Because that is what makes this book beautiful.

“So, I guess we are who we are for a lot of reasons. And maybe we’ll never know most of them. But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from, we can still choose where we go from there.”
― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

My overall thought on the book? :

Honestly, I am not crazy about this book yet I do not hate it too. I like reading it. It was my pleasure to read this one, but somehow I could not find the ‘wow’ factor. The quotes are beautiful, the writing style is okay, the characters are great, the ending makes sense to the me. It sounds like a great book but to be honest, it did not blow my mind. Thus, I can only describe this book as ‘nice’. That was that.

Rating : 3/5 stars

 

Leave a Reply

