Amy & Matthew Book Review

amy-and-matthew

Amy & Matthew

Author: Cammie McGovern
Published by: McMillan Children’s Books
Released: March 24th, 2012
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 322
Format: Paperback
Characters: Amy, Matthew, Sanjay, Sarah, Chloe, …

“This feeling will pass. The fear is real but the danger is not.”
― Cammie McGovern, Amy & Matthew

Synopsis:

This is a book about two people whom are both different, always feeling like an outsider and alone. This however changed when they started to spend their time together. Amy, a girl with CP, a disability that cause some difficulties in moving and the need to rely on a machine to speak out her words. A guy, named Matthew whowas reluctant to accept the fact he lived with OCD all this while but then accepted it with Amy’s help and started to get better.

This book is not like any normal romantic and young adult novels. It talks about the struggle of being so different, so helpless with their own body and the frustration of not able to be like others and unable to control themselves from doing things they do not wish to do. I had one of the best time ever reading this book. It was brilliant for me, yet it was a little off for me at some part. It was kind of a mixed feeling, but I love most of the story though.

“JUST BECAUSE YOU’RE TOO SCARED TO TAKE ANY RISKS DOESN’T MEAN THE REST OF US SHOULD BE.”
― Cammie McGovern, Amy & Matthew

Plot: 

The plot was amazing, from how Amy and Matthew were two different people, living their life. Then, they started to get together, be friends and eventually liking each other. There were ups and downs along their relationship. I swear that I reallyhate the down moments. It really felt bad when they had those moments. Nevertheless, I love how the author write this story. It was a fast pace kind of book.It keeps you reading and always keen to know what is going to happen next. The plot twists are wonderful, they are placed at the right moment in the book. It gives a great impact to the story line.

‘I have learned that many people have disabilities they must make their peace with.’
Cammie McGovern, Amy & Matthew

Characters:

The characters for me are unique and have their own story. This is one of the books that succeeded making me remember almost all of the characters evenly. Yes, the story revolves around the main characters a lot but at the same time, it gives focus to all the side characters. Because everyone seems to know Amy or are not interested with her life, but Amy always keen to know others, what they were thinking, what kind of person they were and what they opinions, as all of that matter to her. And that helps me to know other characters as much as I know Amy. Sanjay,
the Indian guy who was somehow desperate to fit into the popular kids group,
Sarah who seemed to be mature but has her own dilemmas, Chloe with her own story, Nicole (Amy’s mother) who was being overprotective and so many other characters. I love to see how each one of them develop and transform when they all in away form this bond, a friendship. I love Amy as she is the one with the mind who knows what to say, always with the beautiful words. Sometimes, she did wrong choices and said wrong things, but all in all, she is a beautiful character. However, it was hard for me to picture her. I just can’t really imagine how she looks like. If this is turned into a movie, I hope that Amy could be portrayed exactly as she is supposed to look like in the book. Matthew, on the other hand, is easier to be imagined. I like his innocence and loyalty, his love for Amy and how he cared for Amy is just heart  warming.

“It was about acceptance, he thought. About realizing no one is perfect and no one can expect to change someone else.”
― Cammie McGovern, Amy & Matthew

My overall thought?:

Overall, I love the book. There were some parts that I couldn’t understand and couldn’t make sense out of it. But I appreciate the author’s effort in writing this beautiful book and the ending was perfect for me. There were also some parts that almost made me cried. It was touching, lovely and inspiring. A book about sacrifices, friendship, and love. A book that is worth reading, I must say.

 

Rating: 4.5 / 5 stars

Leave a Reply

