First Year ( The Black Mage #1) Book Review

first-year-the-black-mage-1First Year (The Black Mage #1) 

Author: Rachel E. Carter
Published by: Smashwords
Released: August 12th, 2014
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 278
Format: e-book
Characters: Ryiah, Alex, Darren, Ella, Priscilla,…

 

Synopsis (Goodreads) :

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice —pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm’s three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage…

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail—first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

My Review :

First of all, many thanks to the author, Rachel for sending me an e-book copy of her book in return for an honest review. So, this review is 100% reflecting how I felt reading this book.

Once I started the book, I immediately fell in love with the story. The concept of magic and rivalry caught my attention in an instant. I love that the teenagers were given a chance to enroll into a school that they liked an actually compete for the final spots to continue their studies as apprentices. First Year is a great book and a great start for a series. It was fast paced, full of events and the story line was well developed. I enjoyed every single moment reading it as it was packed with events happening in the academy itself.

There’s another aspect that I really, really adored. The cuteness of the romance elements that was inserted in the book. To me, it was a bit cliche and cringy but I swear it was cringe worthy. For the protagonist, Ryiah and the prince, Darren, it was somehow very cliche, a lowborn met a prince and conflicts happened. Well, you know this kind of story well. But I still enjoyed it anyways because I love this kind of setting. Then, we have Alex, the twin brother of Ryiah and Ella, the friend of Ryiah. I swear they were the cutest item together! I love them to the max!

Characters wise, I found out that Ryiah, the protagonist was struggling with her status, her magic and had self doubt. But I liked that she was determined and strong will that made her a strong character. Her twin brother, on the other hand, was levelheaded and loved her a lot, he was also charming and carefree. He did not really mind what others say and he was, I certainly was sure of this, cute and funny. That was why I love his character more than Ryiah. He lit up the mood so frequently.

 

The ending, to me, it was almost predictable. I think most of the readers who read this book can mostly predict the ending. Nevertheless, it was a good one and I loved it. It couldn’t end more perfectly than it had. The most important thing is it made me wanted to read the rest of the series!

Overall, this had been a wonderful read. I enjoyed it a lot and definitely recommend it to the readers who are into magic!

Rating : 5 / 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

