#2016bestnine

This post is to showcase my best nine books read in 2016. I believe that this hashtag is popular on Instagram in showcasing the best nine photos posted of the year. So, I thought of adapting the idea on the best books I read this year. Oh, I mean last year. πŸ˜›

So here it goes, my #2016bestnine books read (in no particular order):

  1. Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

holding-up-the-universeThis book is so inspiring, funny, bright and one of the best books published in 2016. What I adored so much about this book is:

  • The characters, especially Libby
  • The humour
  • The quotes (OMG I have so many tabs on this book, I swear!)

 

β€œWe’re all weird and damaged in our own way. You’re not the only one.”
― Jennifer Niven, Holding Up the Universe

2. Ghost Boy by Martin Pistorius
ghost-boyReading this book can cause you to be on an emotional roller coaster ride. It was heart wrenching, inspiring, beautiful, and at certain point you will feel disgusted on how worse human can be.

For people who adore biography books, I highly suggest this one here!

 

 

β€œIt’s right to say that people fall in love. We don’t glide, slip, or stumble into it. Instead we tumble head first from the moment we decide to step off the edge of a cliff with someone and see whether we’ll fly together. Love might be irrational, but we make the choice to risk everything.”
― Martin Pistorius, Ghost Boy

3. Seriously… I’m Kidding by Ellen Degeneres

ellenCome on, who doesn’t love Ellen? Just go get this book already.

One more thing, don’t read this in public. I warned you.

 

 

 

 

β€œAccept who you are. Unless you’re a serial killer.”
― Ellen DeGeneres, Seriously… I’m Kidding

4. Harry Potter and The Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

harry-potter-and-the-cursed-shildThere’s been mixed reviews on this book. Some people who had read the series commented this book is not as good as the series. But I personally enjoyed this, and yes, I have not read the series yet. But I believe different people has different perspective and I also believe that even if I have read the entire series, I’d still give this book well deserved 5 out 5 stars. πŸ™‚

 

 

β€œThe truth is a beautiful and terrible thing, and should therefore be treated with great caution.”
― Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts One and Two

5. Β Have a Little Faith by Mitch Albom
mitchIt’s no secret that Mitch is my top favourite author. I adore all of his books. Everything about Have a Little Faith is beautiful. The way it portrayed faith was really inspiring and just go read it already.

 

 

 

 

β€œFaith is about doing. You are how you act, not just how you believe.”
― Mitch Albom, Have a Little Faith: a True Story

6. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

fangirlΒ This book is cute, relatable and funny. The ending drove me nuts! And also I quote this from my own review on Goodreads:

“This book is on a roller coaster ride that keeps going up.”

 

 

 

β€œThere are other people on the Internet. It’s awesome. You get all the benefits of ‘other people’ without the body odor and the eye contact.”
― Rainbow Rowell, Fangirl

7. Landline by Rainbow Rowell

landlineΒ If anyone is in for a light yet awesome read, pick this book up! It is one good book with a magic phone. I don’t usually read a book with a main character of age 30s. I prefer the characters to be at teen age or early 20s but this book just blew me away. It was nice and it can really melt your heart away.

 

 

 

β€œNobody’s lives just fit together. Fitting together is something you work at. It’s something you make happen – because you love each other.”
― Rainbow Rowell, Landline

8. Library of Souls ( Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #3) by Ransom Riggs

library-of-souldΒ A great book to end the series. I love how it summed up the whole story.

β€œMaybe lots of people go through life never knowing they’re peculiar.”
― Ransom Riggs, Library of Souls

 

 

 

9. First Year (Black Mage #1) by Rachel E. Carter

black-mage-1Β This was my last read of the year. It was simply one of the most enjoyable book I’ve read. It has romance, magic, rivals, friendship, family bond and so much more. I love the characters as well as the pace of the story line, it was fast and eventful.

2 thoughts on “#2016bestnine

  1. I love how you have used the #bestnine for your favourite books! And I’m so glad to see someone else who loved the Cursed Child! I’ve heard so many negative reviews that I was beginning to think I was the only one who felt it was 5/5 stars! Great post! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

