The Boy Who Lost His Sight Book Review

Author: Bella Zamri
Published by: Terfaktab
Released: October 12th, 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Format: Paperback
Characters:Β Riley, Ellie, …

 

 

Synopsis (Goodreads) :

Away from Lenoir, Ellie Burke found a place to breathe again. A brighter home surrounded with her loved ones. A-once-in-a-lifetime chance to change her life.

Everything seemed perfect enough – until she met Riley Flynn.

A mysterious young boy with a devilish smile, silently living with a traumatic secret buried away from others. In the midst of rain, uncertainty and burning desire – Ellie Burke finally found her salvation.

But when there is hope, there is always a risk for a major heartbreak.

My Review :

First of all, I was so excited to read this book and the reviews plus the views on wattpad was so high! (Yes, this book was originated from Wattpad and then was made into a book.) It got me all pumped up to read this cute little book. It also has such a great blurb at the back of the book. Everything seems so good and tbh, this book did not disappoint me entirely but it went a little downhill for me as it didn’t hit that high expectation I set in the first place.

Being the first full Malaysian English novel that I read, it was not bad at all. I enjoyed reading it. The Boy Who Lost His Sight had such a pleasant story line, it was eventful, the idea was there. But somehow there were a few things that I didn’t enjoy that much.

First, THIS BOOK WAS ABSOLUTELY SCREAMING ‘CLICHE’ at my face the entire time. Cliche usually works on me. I like cliche love story. But this one somehow didn’t work that much because I was expecting some kind of plot twist, but there was none! Everything was almost too easy to be predicted. Upsetting? A little. The story created was perfect but I just hope that there was something done to it that could spice up the story a little.

Also, a lot of readers claimed this book was heart shattering and made them cry. But it did not work for me (AGAIN!) and considering that I’m such a cry baby when it comes to sad scenes or parts in a book, it just really frustrated me. The thing is I kind of came across some sad parts in the book and knew it was that part that cracked readers until they cried. But I just didn’t cry. I guess it lacked something for me, maybe the timing wasn’t right? I’m not sure.

Next, the pace of the story was a little bit too fast for me, that it sometimes didn’t make much sense. I hoped that things could be stretched a little longer, that maybe there were some kind of appropriate ‘fillers’ could be inserted in between some of important parts in the book. For instance, I think Riley fell in love a little too fast with Ellie and Riley received her help a little too easy without much justification to why he really felt so good about her.

Then, Riley’s character. Riley for me was a little confusing in the first part of the book, but later on, after he dated Ellie, he got a little better and came up stronger with a new personality and character, which was good. Comparing to the first part of the book, I thought he was supposed to be this cold and stubborn and just quiet kind of guy, almost like Edward Cullen. But once he spoke his lines, he was talking too much and didn’t go well with his character. So that was why I was confused.

I guess those were the 4 main points of the things I didn’t like much about the book or didn’t work out for me. Overall, I did have a nice time reading The Boy Who Lost His Sight. The writing style was reader friendly, it had some nice simple quotes(even though they didn’t give a deep impact to me) and it is a book that you can read anywhere, at any time. So, to whoever loves some cliche love story, go grab this cute one here!

Rating : 3/5 stars

2 thoughts on “The Boy Who Lost His Sight Book Review

    1. Hi, i’m sorry but I only write a review of this book, I don’t write the story. But I think some parts of the story on wattpad is taken off because it has now officially published under a publication. But you could go grab it at the bookstore. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

