Love, Rosie Book Review

Love, Rosie
Author: Cecelia Ahern
Published by: Hachette Books
Released: December 1st 2005
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 512
Format: Paperback
Characters: Rosie, Alex, Ruby, Katie, Toby, …

Synopsis (Goodreads) :

Rosie and Alex are destined for one another, and everyone seems to know it but them. Best friends since childhood, their relationship gets closer by the day, until Alex gets the news that his family is leaving Dublin and moving to Boston. At 17, Rosie and Alex have just started to see each other in a more romantic light. Devastated, the two make plans for Rosie to apply to colleges in the U.S.

She gets into Boston University, Alex gets into Harvard, and everything is falling into place, when on the eve of her departure, Rosie gets news that will change their lives forever: She’s pregnant by a boy she’d gone out with while on the rebound from Alex.

Her dreams for college, Alex, and a glamorous career dashed, Rosie stays in Dublin to become a single mother, while Alex pursues a medical career and a new love in Boston. But destiny is a funny thing, and in this novel, structured as a series of clever e-mails, letters, notes, and a trail of missed opportunities, Alex and Rosie find out that fate isn’t done with them yet.

My Review:

First of all, if you’ve watched the movie, never trust it! You gotta read the book! Like it’s a must!

This is my second Cecelia Ahern book read, and I must say I liked it very much and enjoyed reading it. It took me a long time to finish this book, not because it was not good but simply because I didn’t want it to end. The writing style was simply brilliant. I liked all the emails, letters, messages and it made reading so fun and enjoyable. The story line was clear too, the timeline was clearly shown with their birthday celebrations.

What the movie depicted was totally different from the book. It doesn’t mean the movie was no good but it simply the book was better. The way Cecelia portrayed the relationship between Alex and Rosie was just torturous and it was unbelievable how many chances they had missed on each other(yes, way worse than the movie!). And Alex’s letter! OMG. I love that letter, those words!

“You deserve someone who loves with every single beat of his heart, someone who thinks about you constantly, someone who spends every minute of every day just wondering what you’re doing, where you are, who you’re with and if you’re OK.
– Cecelia Ahern, Love, Rosie

I don’t need to write more, go read this book yourself! *spoiler alert* I mean, come on! 50 years! Are you kidding me?! But the ending was sweet and touching. I mean can you just imagine 2 50-year-old souls met each other and thinking how silly they were after all this time, only now they got to be together and realized it was all love that they felt for one another? I really adore the ending so much but I was expecting to happen earlier of course! Anyways, it was still a great ending to a beautiful friendship and love story.

The characters for me were brilliant. I love the kids (Toby, Katie and Josh). I love how Ruby was always there for Rosie. Despite the age gap, I think she was the perfect friend for Rosie and I won’t change a thing about Ruby. Her personality was awesome and that was the right thing the book need. Alex and Rosie were just dumb, beautiful, fools, THEY WERE MEANT FOR EACH OTHER!

Overall, I loved this book but I don’t know how to express myself properly. I’m sorry guys, this review kinda sucks. But just remember this, true love exists, you can marry your best friend and don’t wait, there won’t be a right time for things like love, okay? Just pick this book up already!

Rating : 4.5 / 5 stars

Leave a Reply

