The Hate U Give Book Review

The Hate U Give
Author: Angie Thomas
Published by: Balzer & Bray
Released: February 28th, 2017
Genre: Contemporary, YA
Pages: 453
Format: Hardcover
Characters: Starr, Maverick, Maya, Chris, Hailey, Khalil,…

 

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

“Good-byes hurt the most when the other person’s already gone.”
-Angie Thomas, The hate U Give

My Review:

First of all, I was so excited to read this book for a YA read-along by a book club I joined, BookendsMY. I don’t even know where to start but I just loved everything about this book. The writing style was amazing. The plot was developed really well, the story line was greatly executed by the author. I cried 4 freaking times and I was not even a 100 pages into the book and this was my first time crying so hard at the BEGINNING of a book (and also throughout the book, of course). I just adored how the author was able to write and convey so much emotions into this book that I as a reader was easily affected by her words. Starr’s story definitely pulled me deep into this book, it opened up my view so, so much regarding things like rights and voices and be true to yourself. The write up to me was brilliant overall.

“What’s the point of having a voice if you’re gonna be silent in those moments you shouldn’t be?”
-Angie Thomas, The Hate U Give

Characters wise, all of them really stood out. They had their own moments in the book. Even though the story revolved around Starr, other characters had such impact on me as well which I found less likely to happen in YA books. I could remember almost all the characters mentioned from Starr’s youngest brother to her lawyer. I could picture them in my head and played the story again easily in my memory.

“People are realizing and shouting and marching and demanding. They’re not forgetting. I think that’s the most important part.
Khalil, I’ll never forget.
I’ll never give up.
I’ll never be quiet.
I promise.”
-Angie Thomas, The Hate U Give

The ending to me was perfect as well. The words put in the book was brilliant and it really left an impact to the readers. A book so empowering, so heartfelt, and definitely overflown with emotions. So worth it! I highly recommend this book to everyone out there, it will definitely bring you to a whole new perspective altogether.

Rating: 5/5 stars!

 

8 thoughts on “The Hate U Give Book Review

Leave a Reply

