May Wrap Up

It’s almost one week into June, so here I present to you my May wrap up! The last time I did a wrap up was in January. The reason why I didn’t do a wrap up for February, March and April is I didn’t read much, thus it was kind of pointless of doing a wrap up with a book or two. In May, it was totally a different story overall. I managed to read *drum rolls* 9 FREAKING BOOKS! Well, some of them were thin, but nonetheless, I manage to read that much was a great achievement. So, cheers to Jess, the slow reader for puling it off!

1.

Always and Forever Lara Jean

Author: Jenny Han

Rating: 4.5 / 5 stars

Short review: What a perfect ending to this trilogy. I admit that I was annoyed at Lara Jean in some parts of the book, but the ending managed to redeem that anyways. 😉

 

2.
My Heart and Other Black Holes

Author: Jasmine Wanga

Rating: 5/5 stars

Short review: I really liked the idea of this book. I thought that the story was developed very well and the ending was perfect as well. The message conveyed on suicidal thoughts was the most important element of the book and I think it was written really well.

3.
The Accident Season

Author: Moira Fowley-Doyle

Rating: 4.5/ 5 stars

Short review: Simply dark, twisted, unique and full of mystery!

 

 

4.
Beautiful: The Monster Within

Author: L

Rating: 4.5/ 5 stars

Short review: Dark, twisted and the plot twist is just WOW! Amazing piece of local(Malaysia) author work I must say.

 

 

5.
The Worthiest Kiss

Author: Birsilah Bakar

Rating: 3.5/ 5 stars

Short review: Interesting twisted version of fairy tales, well executed. I really enjoyed some of the stories. Simply brilliant! However, there were some stories that were harder to grasp.

 

6.
Th1rteen R3asons Why

Author: Jay Asher

Rating: 4/5 stars

Short review: I love the writing style and the content of this book. However, I’m not a big fan of the characters, especially Hannah and Clay. I think they were way too selfish and desperate for the spotlight at certain point. Well, this is just my opinion. Feel free to leave yours in the comment section! 🙂

7.
Everything Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Rating: 4/5 stars

Short review: I loved the writing style and the words used was so good and I tabbed so many pages of the book. The plot twist was good too! What I didn’t enjoy much was how fast the relationship between Maddy and Olly develop in the book. Also, I think that Maddy can get too selfish at certain point.

8.
The Hate U Give

Author: Angie Thomas

Rating: 5/5 stars

Short review: I love everything about this book. So genuine, heartfelt, the message was really strong and well delivered. The characters are well described and seriously, this book is just amazing. It made me cried so many times and laughed right after that. Full of emotions!

9.
The V

Author: Various authors

Rating: 2.5/5 stars

Short review: Interesting attempt on the issue feminism. The message delivered was really empowering and inspiring. However, this might not be my kind of book, thus I didn’t enjoy it that much and as the stories, articles all keep hitting on the same topic and almost sound the same made me lost interest a little.

That’s it guys, my May wrap up! I’m not sure when will I come up with another wrap up but I’ll try my best to keep you update on book reviews and stuff!

2 thoughts on “May Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

