Invisibility Book Review

Invisibility
Author: Andrea Cremer & David Levithan
Publisher: Speak
Released: April 22nd, 2014
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
Characters: Stephen, Elizabeth, Laurie, Millie, Maxwell Arbus, …

 

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Stephen is used to invisibility. He was born that way. Invisible. Cursed.

Elizabeth sometimes wishes for invisibility. When you’re invisible, no one can hurt you. So when her mother decides to move the family to New York City, Elizabeth is thrilled. It’s easy to blend in there.Then Stephen and Elizabeth meet. To Stephen’s amazement, she can see him. And to Elizabeth’s amazement, she wants him to be able to see her—all of her. But as the two become closer, an invisible world gets in their way—a world of grudges and misfortunes, spells and curses. And once they’re thrust into this world, Elizabeth and Stephen must decide how deep they’re going to go—because the answer could mean the difference between love and death.

“People say that time slips through our fingers like sand. What they don’t acknowledge is that some of the sand sticks to the skin. These are memories that will remain, memories of the time when there was still time left.”
― David Levithan, Invisibility

My review:

I started this book because I really enjoyed David Levithan’s books that I’ve read so far. Starting this book, up to page 100 or so, I really enjoyed it. Loved it even, the writing style, the story development and the characters were all so good for me.

“Just as a fever makes cold feel colder, love can make loneliness feel lonelier.”
― Andrea Cremer, Invisibility

However, I was expecting this book to be like YA contemporary, maybe something like Everyday, but instead of that, I was given a surprise with some magic element, spells and curses as the story and secrets unfold. I was accepting it at the first place and expecting the story is going to better, a little magic is usually good. But when I reached page 250, I just couldn’t really enjoy the book thoroughly like I first started it.

“When no one can see who you are, no one really knows you. The loneliness must be like an ulcer that’s always gnawing at your gut.”
― Andrea Cremer, Invisibility

The element of magic didn’t seem to fit in and only after I finished reading, I realize that the magic element lacked of depth, not much of explanations and it was too shallow for me to believe in the content and the magic world built. There were a lot of books regarding this spellseeker and cursecaster thing in the hexatorium(something like library I guess) but it was not exploited wisely by the authors who created the place, they could’ve used those books to explain the history of the magic world they tried to sell to me in this story. Then, we have Millie who was supposed to be someone old enough and familiar with magic and as an experienced spellseeker, but she always said she didn’t know much and clueless about things. Thus, these are the reasons why I’m saying the book lacked a lot of stuff, materials wise. It wasn’t convincing enough. Thus, the YA and fantasy world combination didn’t seem  really fit in.

“Each of us has our own unit of measurement, our own relativity. Spaces between loves. Spaces between destinations. Spaces between deaths.”
― David Levithan, Invisibility

The ending was so-so for me, nothing surprising. It is such a waste that it started off so good yet it ended as an okay-ish book. Anyhow, I love the writing style, choice of words are brilliant. The characters were great as well for me.

Would I recommend this book? I’d say yes, maybe. But really, you gotta check it out to experience it yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

