Scars Like Wings (ARC): A Story of Survival, Hope and Friendship || A Book Review

Scars Like Wings (ARC)

Author: Erin Stewart

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Released: October 1st, 2019

Genre: YA Contemporary

Pages: 368

Format: Paperback

Characters: Ava, Piper, Asad, …

16-year-old Ava Gardener is heading back to school one year after a house fire left her severely disfigured. She’s used to the names, the stares, the discomfort, but there’s one name she hates most of all: Survivor. What do you call someone who didn’t mean to survive? Who sometimes wishes she hadn’t?

When she meets a fellow survivor named Piper at therapy, Ava begins to feel like she’s not facing the nightmare alone. Piper helps Ava reclaim the pieces of Ava Before the Fire, a normal girl who kissed boys and sang on stage. But Piper is fighting her own battle for survival, and when Ava almost loses her best friend, she must decide if the new normal she’s chasing has more to do with the girl in the glass—or the people by her side.

The beautiful, life-affirming debut from Erin Stewart that’s being called the YA answer to Wonder. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, Nicola Yoon and John Green.

It’s been a while since I read a YA contemporary, most of the synopsis of this genre these days made me go like hmmmm…. and when I truly thought I’m so over YA contemporary, this book reminds me, “NOPE, YOU’RE NOT!” Just like that, I fell in love with every single inch of this book.

“Forgetting is no accident – it’s survival.”
– Erin Stewart, Scars Like Wings

I love the plot, which brought me through lots of ups and downs. I felt like there was no exact climax in this book (or I just simply couldn’t recognized one lmao). Each event that happened somehow broke me, it made me laugh and it made me go teary a little bit. The characters are some of the best I’ve encountered so far this year. The main character, Ava and her new bff, Piper are angsty teenagers yet they are cool, funny and they are bold and they are enough. Scars look good on them and their story is one journey you don’t wanna miss.

“Shoot for the highest star, Ava, and you’re bound to hit something. But first, you have to shoot.”
– Erin Stewart, Scars Like Wings

My heart also goes to a cute boy named Asad, one of the cutest fictional boy crush ever. He has great attitude and personality, I just wanna hug him! Though I do wish his background was given a little bit more highlight as a POC from Pakistan. But again, I think the fact that he stood up for his nationality is very cool. You gotta keep your eyes open for that scene!

“Everyone has scars. Some are just easier to see.”
– Erin Stewart, Scars Like Wings

The ending was pretty cool. It’s simple and it’s what everyone would love to see. I also love the tremendous amount of great quotes in this book, like I’ve been waiting for a book filled with quotes like this since forever (since The Fault in Our Stars)!

A book about survival, hope and friendship. If you’re a fan of John Green like me, you’d totally dig this book.

Thank you @definitelybooks #Pansing for sending this ARC in exchange for an honest review. This book is already out in all good bookstores, make sure to check it out!


4 thoughts on “Scars Like Wings (ARC): A Story of Survival, Hope and Friendship || A Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s